So Sash and I went to Angeles Crest this weekend for our anniversary. We drove up after work on Friday. We were suppose to leave right at 6:15pm, but we ended up leaving at like 6:50pm. We raced up so that we would still have sunlight when we were setting up the tent.
When we got up to Buckhorn, it was packed. Every spot was taken. We drove around and we found this perfect little spot that was a little secluded. it was perfect.
We started putting together the tent as soon as we got there. The box said "put together in less than 10 min". Yeah 10 min my ass. It took us about an hour. But we still beat the sun. After that, we looked for firewood (since Sasha reassured me that there would be plenty, afterall, we were in the forrest. Yeah there was no firewood anywhere. We ended up lighting a small short fire with dried brush and pinecones. We then started the grill for our hotdogs with charcoal. We ate our hotdogs and we were pooped. But there we were, alone, in the dark with a dying fire, getting eaten by mosquitos. It was romantic.
We went to bed shortly after (like at 10:30pm) and had the worst night of our lives. The floor was lumpy and we couldn't fall asleep. Any position we were in there were things jabbing at us. I finally woke up thinking I had slept in, but it was 7:30am. Sasha was wide awake as well. He told me he had been up since 6:30am because he thought he heard purring outside and was afraid it was a mountain lion. He said it keep making noise outside and he heard it jump at one point. He was afraid to make any noise, and he didn't want to wake me. He finally got the nerve to open the window and saw that his mountain lion was really a little red bird! I heard this little red bird later, and yes it did sound like a purr!
Well to make a long story short, we copped out. We couldn't deal with spending another night up there so we ate breakfast, packed up our tent and came down the mountain. We still wanted to enjoy our freedom, so we didn't tell anyone we were back. We went to the movies and watched "Click". It was really good. Great makeup in it!! Then we went to Chevy's, walked around some stores and finally came home around 5:30pm.
Finally, some pics!








